WE ARE

ARTISTS_;/

WE MAKE ART*/^

 

perte de signal provides access to networks, both here and abroad. In its role as an artist centre, it brings together the knowledge and skills of its members and staff, along with the technical and logistical tools of production, diffusion, and management. By doing so, it allows for a free and artistic appropriation of technology. Above all, it is a gateway to multiple networks: artistic, cultural, and academic.

The Centre encourages research and creation, and it promotes both independent artists working in digital arts, and artistic approaches linked with technology. From audio performances to video projections, and from software to mechanical_robotics installations and public interventions, a variety of mediums is used by perte de signal’s members. By exploring a wide array of artistic and formal methods, they envision new approaches in digital arts.

perte de signal is committed to:

  • supporting creative research and experimentation;
  • promoting its members’ work on the national and international scene;
  • developing critical thought concerning digital arts;
  • mediation geared towards a range of audiences;
  • disseminating knowledge and technical/material resources.

 

Above all, perte de signal is a site of connections of initiatives, collaborations, and artistic exchanges. It supports the integration of artists and cultural workers from diverse backgrounds into the digital arts, and it fosters the creative digital literacy of the whole community.

In 1997, a group of young artists got together to share their skills, resources, and expertise. Not yet out of school, they knew they wanted to shape their own involvement and growth within the professional community—first in Montréal, and later, on an international level. They founded perte de signal. No manifesto, no pretence; they simply wanted to forge a sense of belonging, to create a network, and to collectively build up the tools needed to achieve their ambitions.

 

Starting out with the promotion and dissemination of videographic works, the artist centre landed its first European film festival selections in 1998. It soon became a key contributor to film festivals for video art and experimental film in Canada and Europe. This was the birth of a new and independent videography with its roots in Montréal.

 

perte de signal officially became a non-profit organization in 2001. As a result, it was able to redouble its dissemination activities, though it did not lose its ethos of collective responsibility. It toured video works by its members and other independent artists at more than 100 festivals around the world. Then, in 2002, perte de signal took its next step: dissemination. By organizing more than a dozen exhibition tours across the region, perte de signal introduced digital arts to new audiences in Shawinigan, Moncton, Gatineau, Drummondville, Trois-Rivières, Rouyn-Noranda, Amos, Jonquière, Rimouski, Sudbury, St-Hyacinthe, Mont-Laurier, Québec, Toronto, Sept-Îles, St-Jérôme, Ottawa, Sherbrooke, and Fredericton.

 

Over time, perte de signal’s artistic vision has evolved in step with the concerns and interests of its artist_members working in video, installation, sound, electronic, and digital arts. Mainly geared towards research-creation, the artist centre acts as an incubator for ideas. It is an experimental laboratory for artists taking an inventive, critical, or poetic approach to exploring new technologies with their audiences.

 

In 2009, perte de signal was selected for the Conseil des arts de Montréal’s Grand Prix “for its persistent work with emerging media arts and contributions to the development of the field.” The Centre is now a key player in the digital arts, both locally and internationally.

 

In 2013, perte de signal launched SONDES to forge connections between northern and southern Francophone communities in the digital domain. Collective creation projects have been set up between Montréal artists and local artists in Tunis (2013, 2016), Dakar (2014, 2016), Casablanca (2014), and Port-au-Prince (2015). Francophone residencies also take place at the rustines_lab in Montréal. The Centre is thus contributing to a new technological culture alongside Tunisia’s El Fabrika centre and Senegal’s VX Lab, founded locally following the Montréal artists’ stay.

 

In response to evolving technologies and audiences, the Centre opened a new lab-gallery in 2015 at the Pied Carré creation and dissemination hub in Montréal’s Mile End. This new rustines_lab is an open, versatile space adapted to the digital arts, and a site of experimentation and encounters. Through this lab space, perte de signal highlights bold and original productions by Montréal and international artists.

 

2017 saw the foundation of KidZlab, an annual festival that transforms the rustines_lab into a fun space for young audiences to explore and discover. Workshops and activities are run by local and international artists who, with the help of visual settings and a mediation strategy based on co-work, help young people to create a new vision of digital arts and technology.

 

More than 20 years after its creation, the Centre continues to welcome new generations of artists, and members continue to redefine the terms of their role in the community—in turn ensuring the Centre’s stability and relevance for years to come.

 

  • Stephanie Castonguay_ presidente
  • Jean-Ambroise Vesac_ vice-president
  • Sophie Hébert_ treasurer
  • Patrick Harrop_ administrator
  • Rosalie Dumont-Gagné_ administrator
  • Nelly-Eve Rajotte_ administrator
  • Alexis Emelianoff _ administrator
  • Jason Arsenault
  • Claudette Lemay
  • Myriam Bessette
  • Sofian Audry
  • Robin Dupuis

perte de Signal acknowledge the support of the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts and the Conseil des arts de Montréal and the city of Montréal.

NOUS SOMMES

ARTISTES_;/

NOUS FAÇONNONS L’ART*/^

 

perte de signal est un centre d’accès aux réseaux des arts numériques, ici et à l’international. Il cumule le savoir, le savoir-faire de ses administrateurs, de ses membres et de ses employés, ainsi que les outils techniques et logistiques de production, de diffusion, de médiation et de gestion afin de soutenir une appropriation artistique et libre des technologies. Il est un point de jonction au sein de multiples réseaux artistiques, culturels, communautaires et académiques.

Le centre d’artistes impulse la recherche, la création et le rayonnement des artistes indépendants qui œuvrent en arts numériques ainsi que les démarches artistiques liées à la technologie. De la performance audio à la projection vidéo, en passant par l’installation mécanique_robotique, le logiciel de création et l’intervention publique, le travail des membres du Centre se décline à travers différents supports et explore une variété d’approches plastiques, techniques et formelles afin d’éployer un autre imaginaire du numérique.

Les axes d’intervention de perte de signal s’orientent vers :

  • le soutien à la recherche_création et à l’expérimentation artistique ;
  •  le rayonnement du travail de ses membres sur la scène nationale et internationale ;
  • l’élaboration d’une réflexion active sur les arts numériques ;
  • la médiation des pratiques artistiques et numériques auprès des différents publics ;
  • le déploiement des savoirs et des ressources techniques et matérielles.

 

Surtout, perte de signal est un lieu où se ramifient; les initiatives, les collaborations, les échanges artistiques; l’intégration des artistes et des travailleurs culturels de la diversité dans le milieu des arts numériques; la transmission d’une littératie créative du numérique au sein de la communauté dans son ensemble.

En 1997, encore sur les bancs d’école, de jeunes artistes se rassemblent et mettent en commun leurs expertises, leurs ressources et leurs compétences afin de choisir leurs propres modes d’engagement et d’actualisation au sein de la communauté professionnelle, montréalaise et par la suite internationale. Ils fondent sans manifeste, sans prétention; perte de signal. Il s’agissait avant tout de créer un lien d’appartenance, de tisser un premier réseau et de forger collectivement les outils nécessaires à la réalisation de leurs ambitions.

D’abord avec des activités de promotion et de distribution d’œuvres vidéographiques, le Centre d’artistes décrochait ses premières sélections en festival européen dès 1998, pour devenir rapidement un incontournable des festivals d’arts vidéo et de films expérimentaux canadiens et européens. L’émergence d’une nouvelle vidéographie indépendante et montréalaise naît.

En 2001, perte de signal devient officiellement une OBNL afin d’intensifier ses activités de distribution, mais il conserve néanmoins un esprit de collégialité en ce qui a trait à son fonctionnement. Après avoir fait circuler les œuvres vidéo de ses membres, et artistes indépendants, dans plus d’une centaine de festivals à travers le monde, perte de signal se lance dès 2002 dans la diffusion. Avec plus d’une douzaine de projets de circulation d’expositions sur le territoire, perte de signal a initié de premières rencontres entre les publics et les arts numériques à Shawinigan, Moncton, Gatineau, Drummondville, Trois-Rivières, Rouyn-Noranda, Amos, Jonquière, Rimouski, Sudbury, St-Hyacinthe, Mont-Laurier, Québec, Toronto, Sept-Îles, St-Jérôme, Ottawa, Sherbrooke et Fredericton.

Avec le temps, la vision artistique de perte de signal s’est ancrée de façon dynamique autour des préoccupations et des intérêts des artistes_membres de la vidéo, de l’installation, de l’art sonore, de l’art électronique puis du numérique. Orienté principalement vers la recherche_création, le Centre d’artistes agit comme un écosystème incubateur d’idées et sert de laboratoire d’expérimentation pour les artistes qui explorent de façon inventive, critique ou poétique, les nouvelles technologies avec leurs publics.

Nominé en 2009 au Grand Prix du Conseil des arts de Montréal « pour son travail assidu auprès de la relève en arts médiatiques et le développement de la discipline », perte de signal devient un acteur incontournable des arts numériques sur la scène locale et internationale.

En 2013, perte de signal lance l’initiative SONDES, qui pose les balises afin de soutenir une transversalité du numérique dans la francophonie Nord-Sud. Avec des projets de création collective entre artistes montréalais et artistes locaux à Tunis (2013, 2016), Dakar (2014, 2016), Casablanca (2014) et Port-au-Prince (2015), et les résidences pour la francophonie au rustines_lab à Montréal, le Centre impulse une nouvelle culture technologique, à l’instar du Centre tunisien El Fabrika et du VX Lab sénégalais fondé localement après le séjour des artistes montréalais.

En 2015, face à l’évolution des pratiques artistiques, des technologies et des publics, le Centre inaugure un nouvel espace_vitrine modulable adapté à la création numérique au sein du pôle de création et de diffusion Pied carré. Ce rustines_lab situé dans le quartier Mile-End à Montréal, devient un atelier ouvert, un lieu d’expérimentation et de rencontres. De cet espace laboratoire, perte de signal met en lumière les réalisations audacieuses et inédites des artistes montréalais et internationaux.

En 2017, perte de signal fonde le festival annuel KidZlab, où le rustines_lab se métamorphose pour accueillir les jeunes publics au sein du Centre d’artistes. Par le biais d’une scénographie et d’une stratégie de médiation basée sur le Faire ensemble, des ateliers et des activités sont tenus par des artistes d’ici et d’ailleurs, accompagnant les jeunes participants à fabriquer un nouvel imaginaire du numérique.

Au-delà de ses vingt ans, avec de nouvelles générations d’artistes, ses membres ont toujours la volonté de réinscrire collectivement les termes de leur engagement dans leur communauté. Cela lui assurera sa pérennité et surtout sa pertinence pour les années à venir…

  • Stephanie Castonguay_ présidente
  • Jean-Ambroise Vesac_ vice-président
  • Sophie Hébert_ trésorière
  • Patrick Harrop_ administrateur
  • Rosalie Dumont-Gagné_ administratrice
  • Nelly-Eve Rajotte_ administratrice
  • Alexis Emelianoff _ administratrice
  • Jason Arsenault
  • Claudette Lemay
  • Myriam Bessette
  • Sofian Audry
  • Robin Dupuis

perte de signal remercie le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, le Conseil des arts de Montréal, la ville de Montréal, le Ministère de la culture et des communications, le Ministère des relations internationales et de la francophonie et le Conseil des arts du Canada.