SONDES

SONDES is an intervention, creation and solidarity project adopting the operative schemes of open digital practices (DIY, free software, open hardware,etc.) and taking as main pillars sharing, collaborating and independence through interdependence. Montreal artists invited by PERTE DE SIGNAL to develop creative workshops, to carry out artistic projects with their French-speaking peers from the South and to present their work at various events.

Port-au-Prince, Haïti

Fall 2015, Nuit Blanche de Port-au-Prince

Stephanie Castonguay ¦ Jean-Ambroise Vesac ¦ Thomas O. Fredericks

From 21 to 30 November 2015, Haitian and Québec artists held creative workshops at the Art Center in collaboration with Chantiers du Sud. The results of a week of joint exploration were presented at the Nuit Blanche in Port-au-Prince on 28 November 2015 at the FOKAL center.

SONDES::HAÏTI was supported by CALQ, MRI et MCCQ

Dakar, Senegal

Sondes à Dakar en octobre 2014

Fall 2014, Centre Kër Thiossane

Sofian Audry ¦ Stephanie Castonguay ¦ Thomas O. Fredericks ¦ Alexandre Quessy

From October 13 to 26 2014, Sondes visited the city of Dakar to produce a collective intervention at Ker Thiossane Center. Quebec artists paired with Senegalese peers have developed a digital art event in Ker Thiossane’s garden, a collaborative & community art garden. Participants appropriated the place through installations and in situ performances. In order to promote a high level of artistic flexibility and intercultural and interdisciplinary exchanges, the group organized itself through spontaneous sharing of ideas, techniques and resources and involved in their works several media such as electronics, textile, sound and video mapping (using the freeware MapMap)

SONDES::DAKAR was supported by CALQ and LOJIQ.

Casablanca, Maroc

Sondes à Casablanca en avril 2014

Spring 2014, FAV, Casablanca

Sofian Audry ¦ Stephanie Castonguay ¦ Maxime Damecour ¦ Alexandre Castonguay ¦ Emmanuel Lagrange-Paquet ¦ Thomas O. Fredericks ¦ Alexandre Quessy

At the 20th edition of FIAV in Casablanca, Alexandre Castonguay and Thomas O. Fredericks invited participants to build Agit P.O.V. electronic circuits and to participate to a bike performance; Stephanie Castonguay introduced participants to electronics by making contact microphones and binaural microphones at her Kit-kit Workshop; Maxime Damecour presented the workshop Ré-orienter l’audio (=Reorient Audio) on the hijacking of personal computer audio systems; Hack & Slash Lab by Emmanuel Lagrange-Paquet offered an overview of reappropriated proprietary technologies; and finally, Alexandre Quessy presented his software Toonloop through a workshop on stop-motion animation.

SONDES::CASABLANCA was supported by CALQ and LOJIQ

Tunis, Tunisie

Fall 2013, E-Fest 2013

Stephanie Castonguay ¦ Maxime Damecour ¦ Emmanuel Lagrange-Paquet ¦ Alexandre Quessy ¦ Sofian Audry

At the E-Fest 2013 from November 14 to 16 in Tunis, Stephanie Castonguay will introduce participants to electronics by making contact microphones and binaural microphones during her Kit-kit Workshop; Maxime Damecour present Packet Party!, a practical workshop on observation and representation of the traffic on the Internet networks; the Hack & Slash Lab workshop by Emmanuel Lagrange-Paquet will offer an overview of the hijacked proprietary technologies; and finally Alexandre Quessy will present the software Toonloop through a workshop on stop-motion animation.

SONDES::TUNIS was supported by CALQ and LOJIQ

SONDES

SONDES est un projet d’intervention, de création et de solidarité adoptant les schèmes d’opérations des pratiques numériques ouvertes (DIY, logiciel libres, open hardware,…) avec pour pilliers principaux le partage, la collaboration et l’indépendance par l’interdépendance. Les artistes montréalais invités par PERTE DE SIGNAL sont appelés à développer des ateliers créatifs, à réaliser des projets artistiques avec leurs pairs francophones du Sud et à présenter leur travail lors de divers événements.

Port-au-Prince, Haïti

Automne 2015, Nuit Blanche de Port-au-Prince

Stephanie Castonguay ¦ Jean-Ambroise Vesac ¦ Thomas O. Fredericks

Du 21 au 30 novembre 2015, les artistes haïtiens et québécois ont tenus des ateliers créatifs au centre d’Art en collaboration avec Chantiers du Sud. Les résultats d’une semaine d’exploration commune ont été présentés lors de la Nuit Blanche de Port-au-Prince, le 28 novembre 2015 au centre FOKAL.

SONDES::HAÏTI a bénéficié de l’aide du Ministère des relations internationales et de la francophonie, Ministère de la Culture et des Communications, CALQ et de LOJIQ.

Dakar, Sénégal

Sondes à Dakar en octobre 2014

Automne 2014, Centre Kër Thiossane

Sofian Audry ¦ Stephanie Castonguay ¦ Thomas O. Fredericks ¦ Alexandre Quessy

Du 13 au 26 octobre 2014, Sondes s’est rendu dans la ville de Dakar pour réaliser une intervention collective au centre Kër Thiossane. Les artistes québécois jumelés à des confrères sénégalais ont élaboré un événement d’art numérique dans le jardin « Jet d’eau » du Centre Kër Thiossane, un jardin artistique collaboratif et communautaire. Les participant-es ont investi le lieu à travers des installations et performances in situ. Afin de favoriser un haut degré de flexibilité artistique et l’échange interculturel et interdisciplinaire, le collectif s’est organisé à travers le partage spontané d’idées, de techniques et de ressources et a fait intervenir dans ses oeuvres plusieurs médias tels que l’électronique, le textile, le son et le mapping vidéo (à l’aide du logiciel libre MapMap)

SONDES::DAKAR a bénéficié de l’aide du CALQ et de LOJIQ.

Casablanca, Maroc

Sondes à Casablanca en avril 2014

Printemps 2014, FAV de Casablanca

Sofian Audry ¦ Stephanie Castonguay ¦ Maxime Damecour ¦ Alexandre Castonguay ¦ Emmanuel Lagrange-Paquet ¦ Thomas O. Fredericks ¦ Alexandre Quessy

À la 20e édition du FIAV à Casablanca, Alexandre Castonguay et Thomas O. Fredericks inviteront les participants à construire un circuit électronique Agit P.O.V. suivi d’une performance participative à vélo ; Stéphanie Castonguay initiera les participants à l’électronique par la confection de micros contacts et de micros binauraux dans son atelier Kit-kit; Maxime Damecour présentera Ré-orienter l’audio, un atelier sur le détournement du système audio d’un ordinateur personnel; Hack & slash lab d’Emmanuel Lagrange Paquet proposera un survol de technologies propriétaires détournées; et finalement, Alexandre Quessy présentera son logiciel Toonloop à travers un atelier lié à la technique de l’arrêt sur image.

SONDES::CASABLANCA a bénéficié de l’aide du CALQ et de LOJIQ

Tunis, Tunisie

Automne 2013, E-Fest 2013

Stephanie Castonguay ¦ Maxime Damecour ¦ Emmanuel Lagrange-Paquet ¦ Alexandre Quessy ¦ Sofian Audry

Du 14 au 16 novembre 2013 au E-Fest 2013 de Tunis, Stephanie Castonguay initiera les participants à l’électronique par la confection de micros contacts et de micros binauraux dans son atelier Kit-kit; Maxime Damecour présentera Packet party!, un atelier pratique sur l’observation et la représentation du trafic des réseaux sur Internet; l’atelier Hack & slash lab d’Emmanuel Lagrange-Paquet proposera un survol de technologies propriétaires détournées; et finalement Alexandre Quessy présentera son logiciel Toonloop à travers un atelier lié à la technique de l’arrêt sur image.

SONDES::TUNIS a bénéficié de l’aide du CALQ et de LOJIQ