CONFLUENCE @ Plugin Istanbul

Confluence @ Plugin Istanbul

From November 13 to 16, 2014, PERTE DE SIGNAL presents a Quebec video art component at Contemporary Istanbul, the largest Turkish art fair, in collaboration with Kurye Video. As part of the CONFLUENCE exhibition, the artists will participate in Plugin, the section dedicated to showcasing new media. This project is a showcase of Quebec’s creativity in video art on the international art market.

CONFLUENCE gathers video artworks by six PERTE DE SIGNAL artists: Jason Arsenault, Myriam Bessette, Robin Dupuis, François Quévillon, Nelly-Ève Rajotte and Pavitra Wickramasinghe. Each in its way, these works invest the characteristic spatial plasticity of digital video, a space in which the flows of edited and “processed” moving images and audio modulations wind about, interact and pull at one another. The video support serves as binder to highlight a variety of video practices from animation to static capture of shot sequence and the use of concrete and synthesized sounds.

Whether on the verge of abstraction or hinting at figuration, these works play in various ways with the spectator’s expectation and response. Flickerings, slowness, subtle and marked modulations, signal fluctuations, play on depths of field and spatializations are among the various processes that are used by the artists to touch audience in many different ways. But while the process of making images and sounds governed much of the aesthetic of the works presented, their subjects go well beyond the mere display of particular techniques. At work in the (im)materiality of digital signals is a sensory quest for meaning that transcends the medium’s self-referentiality and invests the field of imagination.

Artists & Works

JASON ARSENAULT :: CRIS
PAVITRA WICKRAMASINGHE :: LAST SYLLABLE OF TIME
MYRIAM BESSETTE :: FUTAIE
FRANÇOIS QUÉVILLON :: DEFROST
ROBIN DUPUIS :: DIGITALE
NELLY-ÈVE RAJOTTE :: MAA

Venue

The Istanbul Convention and Exhibition Center (ICEC)
İstanbul Lütfi Kırdar Uluslararası Kongre Ve Sergi Sarayı

Gümüş Cad. No:4 34367

Opening Hours

Vernissage (by invitation only): November 12th 2014
Visiting hour (open to everyone): November 13-16 2014, 11 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Entrance Fees

Regular: 20.00 TL (7€ approx.)
Students : 12.00 TL (4€ approx.)

More information

Plugin Istanbul website
Contemporary Istanbul website

This initiative is an invitation by Kurye Video.

PERTE DE SIGNAL is a Montreal-based art centre that promotes and fosters the development of digital arts and innovative artistic uses of technology.   Perte-de-signal.org

KURYE VIDEO organizes international festivals, film screenings, exhibitions, web exhibitions, visual events in live music venues and live AV performances. Kurye also works as an agency in representing some of the artists and works in its archive.   Kuryevideo.org

Photo credit: Jason Arsenault

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by perte. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.

CONFLUENCE @ Plugin Istanbul

Confluence @ Plugin Istanbul

Du 13 au 16 novembre 2014, PERTE DE SIGNAL participera sur l’invitation de Kurye Video à la plus importante foire d’art contemporain de Turquie, Contemporary Istanbul. Regroupé sous le thème CONFLUENCE, les artistes présenteront leur travail dans le volet Plugin de cet événement. Ce projet se veut une vitrine de la création vidéographique québécoise sur le marché international de l’art.

CONFLUENCE rassemble des œuvres à caractère vidéographique, réalisées par six artistes de PERTE DE SIGNAL : Jason Arsenault, Myriam Bessette, Robin Dupuis, François Quévillon, Nelly-Ève Rajotte et Pavitra Wickramasinghe. Les œuvres présentées se rejoignent dans leur façon d’investir la plasticité de l’espace propre à la vidéo numérique, soit un espace où le flux des images en mouvement traités et « maltraités » au montage et celui des ondulations sonores s’enroulent, s’entrecoupent et se tiraillent. Le support vidéo fait ici office de liant mettrant en relief une diversité d’approches vidéographiques, de l’animation à la captation statique en plan-séquence, privilégiant selon le cas l’utilisation de sons concrets ou de synthèse.

Qu’elles frôlent l’abstraction ou caressent plutôt la figuration, les œuvres jouent de diverses façons avec les attentes et les affects des spectateurs. Cillement, lenteur, modulations infimes ou marquées, fluctuation du signal, jeu sur la profondeur de champ ou la spatialisation sont parmi les procédés mis de l’avant par les artistes pour toucher de part et d’autre les spectateurs. Mais si le processus de fabrication des images et des sons organise en grande partie l’esthétique des œuvres présentées, le propos de celles-ci dépasse largement la simple mise en exergue des mécanismes qui leur sont spécifiques. Ainsi, à travers l’(im)matérialité des signaux numériques s’orchestre une quête de sens et de sensations qui dépasse l’autoréférentialité du médium pour mieux envahir le terrain de l’imaginaire.

Artistes et œuvres présentés

JASON ARSENAULT :: CRIS
PAVITRA WICKRAMASINGHE :: LAST SYLLABLE OF TIME
MYRIAM BESSETTE :: FUTAIE
FRANÇOIS QUÉVILLON :: DEFROST
ROBIN DUPUIS :: DIGITALE
NELLY-ÈVE RAJOTTE :: MAA

Lieu

The Istanbul Convention and Exhibition Center (ICEC)
İstanbul Lütfi Kırdar Uluslararası Kongre Ve Sergi Sarayı

Gümüş Cad. No:4 34367

Horaires d’ouverture

Vernissage (sur invitation): 12 novembre 2014
Visite publique (ouvert à tous): 13-16 novembre 2014, 11h-20h

Droits d’entrée

Régulier: 20,00 TL (7€ approx.)
Étudiant: 12,00 TL (4€ approx.)

Plus d’informations

Site de Plugin Istanbul
Site de Contemporary Istanbul

Cette initiative est une invitation de Kurye Video.

PERTE DE SIGNAL est un centre d’artistes montréalais dont le mandat est de promouvoir le renforcement et le rayonnement des arts numériques et l’innovation artistique liée à la technologie.   Perte-de-signal.org

KURYE VIDEO est l’organisateur de festivals internationaux, des projections de films, d’expositions, d’expositions web, d’événements d’arts visuels en salles de concert et des spectacles audiovisuels en direct. Kurye fonctionne aussi comme agence représentant certains des artistes et œuvres présents dans ses archives.   Kuryevideo.org

Crédit photo: Jason Arsenault

Les commentaires sont fermés.