Re-encodings

GATINEAU, SHAWINIGAN ¦ 2014-2016

Sofian Audry ¦ Samuel St-Aubin ¦ Claudette Lemay

Re-encodings assembles installation and videographic works that evoke the world of birds in a contemporary and experimental manner. Each in its own way, the works integrate a fragment of nature and put in perspective the gap between the real and its reproduction, the natural and the constructed. Using modern technologies, they humorously explore this fictional space, sometimes by inserting interactive electronic modules in the gallery who evoque strange birds, or by multiplying translation exercises of birdcalls with the human voice. Whether taking aural or visual form, the figure of the bird is re-encoded, reinterpreted, and simulated, becoming a poetic object that the spectator can reconsider in their own imagination.

Presented at Centre d’exposition l’Imagier & at Centre d’exposition Léo-Ayotte.

documents
Project Specifications (PDF, 1.7 MB)
Exhibition Website

One Thing To Another

MONTRÉAL ¦ 2014

Samuel Saint-Aubin

One thing to another deals with the border between the behavior of matter and the control exercised over it by electromechanical devices. The exhibition presents a series of kinetic sculptures each highlighting the isolated behavior of an object from our collective universe. Objects-selected materials are tested through exercises of balance, strength and chance. These devices reveal the poetic side of everyday life that often escapes our attention.

Presented at Maison des Arts de Laval, Show Off & Galerie Occurrence.

documents
Project Specifications
(PDF, 400 KB)
Exhibition Website

Simple Machines

SHERBROOKE, ROUYN-NORANDA ¦ 2012

Jonathan Villeneuve

Simple Machines is an exhibition that brings together four of the most recent electromechanical installations by the artist Jonathan Villeneuve. The works of Simple Machines are made out of raw materials and found objects that move and produce sounds in ways that challenge one’s assumption about its imaginary function.

Presented at Galerie d’art du Centre culturel de l’Université de Sherbrooke & at the Centre d’exposition de Rouyn-Noranda.

document
Project Specifications
(PDF, 400 KB)
Exhibition Website

Ex Vivo

MONTRÉAL ¦ 2013-2014

Sofian Audry ¦ Samuel St-Aubin

Ex Vivo considers the laboratory, revealing the relationship between that which is internal to it and that which is external to it. As sociologist Bruno Latour says, “laboratories are one of the few places where the very composition of the social context has been metamorphosed.” Our societies are to a great extent conditioned by what happens inside these labs. Some scientific results completely alter our lifestyle and environment, while others are hardly used or taken into consideration: the influence of laboratories raises economic and political questions and issues about the transmission of the scientific knowledge generated there.

Ex Vivo investigates the future of our societies with their rapidly changing technosciences and cultures. By addressing the social imagination underpinning laboratory research and the work of the research scientist, the exhibition reveals a creative process that is similar to an experimental process. It considers the relationship between technology and the environment by presenting lab work procedures carried out in contexts typically external to them.

Curator: Aurélie Besson
Presented at Galerie Occurrence.

Refusing to make a scene

ROUYN-NORANDA ¦ 2012

Pavitra Wickramasinghe

Refusing to make a scene recreates the instant when light is propagated in the gallery, but instead of immersing us in the image, it suspends us inside of it, using a screen made of a nylon and stainless steel mesh that materializes the image. In the space, the projected image never touches the screen completely because its porosity prevents the image from catching on the wire mesh. The nylon and steel wires allow the light to escape and indecipherably get lost in the gallery and on the observer’s body, who, by moving, perceives the illusion’s decomposition from different viewing angles. This process is propagated between the layers of nylon and the image decomposing in the gallery. Pavitra Wickramasinghe has created a screen that materializes the image’s gaseous state, emphasizing its relationship with the observer. (Excerpt of text by Erandy Vergara)

Presented at Maison de la culture de Villeray–Saint-Michel–Parc-Extension, at the Centre d’exposition de Rouyn-Noranda, at Galerie d’art Desjardins, at Galerie Connexion, at the Centre national d’exposition, at the Centre d’exposition d’Amos, at La Bande Vidéo, at the Centre d’exposition Raymond-Lasnier, at Estevan Art Gallery & at Galerie B-312

document
Project Specifications
(PDF, 1 MB)

Impermanence

DRUMMONDVILLE, MONTRÉAL & MONCTON ¦ 2012-2013

Alexis Bellavance ¦ François Quévillon ¦ Nelly-Ève Rajotte

Impermanence presents a body of photographic, video and installational work that deals with an oft-explored subject in the arts: our environment, and how we apprehend our surroundings and our rapport with the world. Reaffirming its relevance to the preoccupations of contemporary art, the modern landscape presents itself in light of its precariousness and impermanence.

Curator: Charlotte Panaccio-Letendre

Presented at Espace Cercle Carré, at the Maison des Arts Desjardins Drummondville & at Galerie Sans Nom.

document
Interpretation Booklet
(In French, PDF 3.5 MB)
Project Specifications (PDF, 700 KB)

Confluence

MONTRÉAL ¦ 2012

Jason Arsenault ¦ Myriam Bessette ¦ Robin Dupuis ¦ François Quévillon ¦ Nelly-Ève Rajotte¦ Pavitra Wickramasinghe

The exhibition Confluence brings together works of 6 Perte de Signal artists who use video as a choice medium. This project has been produced by Montreal artists involved in the development of digital art practices in Canada and internationally. Here, the medium is the link in an exhibition representing a wide variety of videographic practices and that has the aim to reveal the innovative artistic approaches put forward by these artists since several years. Confluence is a video choreography offering a journey that confronts the visitor with moving images. These works attempt to capture/retain bits of the constant flow of digital information. Uncertainty and instability are reflected in these videos that are at the confluence of abstraction and figuration.

Presented at Galerie Joyce Yahouda

document
Project Specifications
(PDF, 1 MB)

Object Mechanics

TROIS-RIVIÈRES, AMOS & JONQUIÈRE ¦ 2011-2012

Jason Arsenault ¦ Martin Messier ¦ Myriam Bessette ¦ Martine Lauzier ¦ Robin Dupuis ¦ Jonathan Villeneuve ¦ Érick d’Orion ¦ Pavitra Wickramasinghe ¦ Amélie Brisson-Darveau ¦ Claudette Lemay

Object Mechanics gathers several installative works in an exhibition that revisits in a contemporary manner and with the current technology the creations and past inventions of emerging and more established digital artists. A dissemination project as well as a digital art mediation exercise toward new audiences this exhibition takes its very root in Perte de Signal’s main direction which aims to promote the discipline’s outreach towards all public.

Curators: Ariane De Blois et Julie Bélisle

Presented at the Centre national d’exposition, at the Centre d’exposition Raymond-Lasnier & at the Centre d’exposition d’Amos.

documents
Interpretation Booklet
(In French, PDF 5 MB)
Project Specifications in English, in French and in German (PDF, 1,9 MB)

Instants fugitifs

GATINEAU ¦ 2012

Jason Arsenault ¦ Robin Dupuis ¦ Nelly-Ève Rajotte

Instants fugitifs is a digital arts exhibition including videographic, audio and installative works by Jason Arsenault, Robin Dupuis and Nelly-Ève Rajotte on the notions of appearance/disappearance and presence/absence. These artists are members of the Montreal-based artist center Perte de Signal, a center of production, research and development in digital arts advocating for an experiential approach and seeking to rethink its modes of presentation.

Presented at the Centre d’exposition L’Imagier.

document
Project Specifications
(In French, PDF 600 KB)

La mécanique de l’objet

LIEPZIG ¦ 2015

Nicolas Bernier< ¦ Myriam Bessette ¦ Robin Dubuis ¦ Samuel St-Aubin ¦ Martin Messier ¦ Pavitra Wickramasinghe ¦ Jonathan Villeneuve ¦ Darsha Hewitt

La Mécanique de l’objet rassemble des œuvres installatives qui revisitent, de façon contemporaine et avec les moyens techniques actuels, des créations ou inventions anciennes dans une exposition de travaux récents d’artistes émergents et établis des arts numériques.
Présenté à la galerie KunstKraftWerk
documents
Dossier du projet (PDF, 1MB)
site de l’exposition

Réencodages

GATINEAU, SHAWINIGAN ¦ 2014-2016

Sofian Audry ¦ Samuel St-Aubin ¦ Claudette Lemay

Réencodages regroupe des œuvres installatives et vidéographiques de Sofian Audry, Claudette Lemay et Samuel St-Aubin qui évoquent l’univers des oiseaux de manière contemporaine et expérimentale. Les œuvres intègrent chacune à leur manière une parcelle de nature et mettent en perspective le décalage entre le réel et sa reproduction, le naturel et le construit. Utilisant des moyens techniques actuels, elles explorent cet espace de fiction avec humour, tantôt en intégrant dans le lieu des modules électroniques interactifs qui évoquent d’étranges oiseaux, ou en multipliant les exercices de traduction de chants d’oiseaux avec la voix humaine. Qu’elle soit sonore ou visuelle, la figure de l’oiseau est ici réencodée, réinterprétée et simulée, devenant un objet poétique que le spectateur peut investir de son propre imaginaire.

Présenté à la Centre d’exposition l’Imagier & au Centre d’exposition Léo-Ayotte.

documents
Dossier du projet (PDF, 1,7 MB)
Site de l’exposition

De choses et d’autres

MONTRÉAL ¦ 2014

Samuel Saint-Aubin

L’exposition Choses et d’autres regroupe des sculptures mécaniques itératives construites au moyen d’objets du quotidien. Des sculptures mécaniques inspirées de phénomènes de la vie de tous les jours, inscrivent des objets du quotidien dans une itération absurde et ingénieuse de mouvements mécaniques. (Extrait du texte d’Aurélie Besson)

Présenté à la Maison des Arts de Laval, à Show Off & à la Galerie Occurrence.

documents
Dossier du projet
(PDF, 400 KB)
Site de l’exposition

Machines simples

SHERBROOKE, ROUYN-NORANDA ¦ 2012

Jonathan Villeneuve

Machines Simples est une exposition qui regroupe quatre des plus récentes installations électromécaniques de l’artiste Jonathan Villeneuve. Les œuvres de Machines Simples sont composées de matériaux bruts ou d’objets trouvés, qui bougent et produisent du son, laissant le visiteur présumer de leur fonction imaginaire.

Présenté à la Galerie d’art du Centre culturel de l’Université de Sherbrooke et au Centre d’exposition de Rouyn-Noranda.

document
Dossier du projet
(PDF, 400 KB)


Ex Vivo

MONTRÉAL ¦ 2013-2014

Sofian Audry ¦ Samuel St-Aubin

Ex Vivo traite du laboratoire et révèle le rapport entre ce qui lui est interne et ce qui lui est externe. Comme le dit le sociologue des sciences Bruno Latour, « les laboratoires sont un des quelques lieux où la composition du contexte social a été métamorphosée ». Nos sociétés sont en grande partie conditionnées par ce qui se passe à l’intérieur de ceux-ci. Certains résultats scientifiques modifient complètement nos modes de vie et notre environnement, alors que d’autres sont à peine pris en compte ou exploités : l’influence des laboratoires relève de questions d’ordre économique et politique ou de la transmission des savoirs scientifiques qui y sont générés.

Ex Vivo soulève des questions sur l’avenir de nos sociétés où la techno-science, et ses cultures, sont en pleine mutation. En abordant l’imaginaire social sous-tendant le travail du chercheur en science et la recherche en laboratoire, l’exposition révèle un processus de création artistique similaire au processus expérimental. Elle traite du rapport entre la technologie et l’environnement tout en présentant des formes de travail de laboratoire effectuées dans des milieux qui lui sont habituellement extérieurs.

Commissaire : Aurélie Besson
Présenté à la Galerie Occurrence.

Refusing to make a scene

ROUYN-NORANDA ¦ 2012

Pavitra Wickramasinghe

Refusing to make a scene recrée l’instant où la lumière se propage dans la galerie, mais au lieu de nous immerger dans l’image, il nous suspens à l’intérieur de celle-ci, grâce à un écran fait de fibre de nylon et d’acier inoxydable qui matérialise l’image. Dans l’espace, l’image projetée ne touche jamais complètement l’écran puisque sa porosité empêche l’image de se coincer entre les fils de la toile. Les fils de nylon et d’acier permettent à la lumière de s’échapper et se perdre de façon indéchiffrable dans la galerie et sur le corps de l’observateur, qui, en se déplaçant, perçoit la décomposition de l’illusion à différents angles de vue. Ce processus dirige l’attention vers le regard de l’observateur, ainsi, la «non-scène» de Pavitra Wickramasinghe reconstitue dans l’espace la relation entre le spectateur et l’image. (Extrait d’un texte de Erandy Vergara)

Présenté à la Maison de la culture de Villeray–Saint-Michel–Parc-Extension, au Centre d’exposition de Rouyn-Noranda, à la Galerie d’art Desjardins, à la Galerie Connexion, au Centre national d’exposition, au Centre d’exposition d’Amos, à La Bande Vidéo, au Centre d’exposition Raymond-Lasnier, à la Estevan Art Gallery et à la Galerie B-312

document
Dossier du projet
(PDF, 1 MB)

Impermanence

DRUMMONDVILLE, MONTRÉAL & MONCTON ¦ 2012-2013

Alexis Bellavance ¦ François Quévillon ¦ Nelly-Ève Rajotte

Impermanence présente un corpus d’œuvres photographiques, vidéographiques et installatives. L’exposition traite d’un sujet abordé abondamment en arts: celui de notre environnement, des manières d’appréhender le paysage et de notre rapport au monde. Le paysage moderne se donne à voir sous l’angle de la précarité et de l’impermanence afin de réitérer la pertinence au sein des préoccupations de l’art actuel.

Commissaire: Charlotte Panaccio-Letendre

Présenté à l’Espace Cercle Carré, à la Maison des Arts Desjardins Drummondville et à la Galerie Sans Nom.

document
Cahier d’interprétation
(PDF 3,5 MB)
Dossier du projet (PDF, 600 KB)

Confluence

MONTRÉAL ¦ 2012

Jason Arsenault ¦ Myriam Bessette ¦ Robin Dupuis ¦ François Quévillon ¦ Nelly-Ève Rajotte¦ Pavitra Wickramasinghe

L’exposition Confluence rassemble les œuvres de 6 artistes de Perte de Signal qui ont fait de la vidéo leur médium de prédilection. Ce projet est réalisé par des artistes montréalais qui participent au développement des nouvelles pratiques en arts médiatiques tant au Canada que sur la scène internationale. Ici, le support fait office de liant dans une exposition qui vise à représenter la diversité des pratiques vidéographiques, le but étant d’attester l’innovation des démarches artistiques que ces artistes mettent de l’avant depuis plusieurs années. Confluence est une chorégraphie vidéographique proposant un parcours qui confronte le visiteur à des images en mouvements. Les œuvres tentent de saisir/retenir les bribes d’un flux incessant d’information numérique. L’incertitude et l’instabilité sont reflétées dans ces vidéos qui se trouvent à la confluence de l’abstraction et de la figuration.

Présenté à la Galerie Joyce Yahouda

document
Dossier du projet
(PDF, 1 MB)

La Mécanique de l’objet

TROIS-RIVIÈRES, AMOS & JONQUIÈRE ¦ 2011-2012

Jason Arsenault ¦ Martin Messier ¦ Myriam Bessette ¦ Martine Lauzier ¦ Robin Dupuis ¦ Jonathan Villeneuve ¦ Érick d’Orion ¦ Pavitra Wickramasinghe ¦ Amélie Brisson-Darveau ¦ Claudette Lemay

La Mécanique de l’objet rassemble des œuvres installatives qui revisitent, de façon contemporaine et avec les moyens techniques actuels, des créations ou inventions anciennes dans une exposition de travaux récents d’artistes émergents et établis des arts numériques. À la fois projet de circulation d’œuvres sur le territoire et exercice de médiation entre les arts médiatiques et un nouveau public, ce projet d’exposition s’ancre dans les orientations premières de l’organisme Perte de Signal: accroitre le rayonnement de la discipline auprès des publics.

Commissaires : Ariane De Blois et Julie Bélisle

Présenté au Centre national d’exposition, au Centre d’exposition Raymond-Lasnier et au Centre d’exposition d’Amos.

documents
Cahier d’interprétation
(PDF, 5 MB)
Dossier du projet en français, en anglais et en allemand (PDF, 1,9 MB)

Instants fugitifs

GATINEAU ¦ 2012

Jason Arsenault ¦ Robin Dupuis ¦ Nelly-Ève Rajotte

Instants fugitifs est une exposition d’arts médiatiques qui regroupe le travail vidéographique, sonore et installatif de Jason Arsenault, de Robin Dupuis et de Nelly-Ève Rajotte autour des notions d’apparition et de disparition, de présence et d’absence. Les artistes présentés sont tous membres de l’organisme montréalais Perte de Signal, un centre de production, de recherches et de développement en arts médiatiques dont les projets de diffusion préconisent une approche expérientielle des arts numériques et cherchent parallèlement à en repenser les modes de présentation.

Présenté au Centre d’exposition L’Imagier.

documents
Dossier du projet
(PDF, 600 KB)