Stephanie Castonguay :: Elektrik Bugs

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Montréal, June 19th, 2019 – Stephanie Castonguay is at the sound art festival Sound Travels, organized by New Adventures In Sound Art, in South River (ON) to give her latest sound and experimentation workshop to the children of the South River Public School.

Stephanie Castonguay is currently in residency at NAISA for the sound art festival Sound Travels. There, she held her latest workshop Elektrik Bugs on Monday and Tuesday, to the students of the South River Public School classes. Together they will perform a sound performance from their creations on Friday, June 21, 2019, 7 p.m. The modules developed during the workshops will then be presented as a sound and interactive installation, open to the public from June 21 to July 22, 2019 at NAISA North Media Arts Center.

Elektrik Bugs is the new electronic and creative workshop from Stephanie Castonguay that experiments the concept of how sound frequency travels through light and can be converted back into sound by the means of an amplified solar panel. By transforming the sound of their own voices via a transmitter device, children will be led to imagine how, in the universe of insects, bugs communicate with each other.

::

More info on…

Opening night performance | Friday, June 21, 7 p.m. | NAISA North Media Arts Centre, 106 Ottawa Ave, South River ON)
naisa.ca/performances/upcoming-performances
→ Facebook Event

Exhibition | June 21 to July 22, 2019 (Open 10 am to 4 pm everyday except Tuesdays and Wednesdays) | NAISA North Media Arts Centre, 106 Ottawa Ave, South River ON)
→ naisa.ca/installations/upcoming-installations
→ Facebook Event

Stephanie Castonguay
→ stephaniecastonguay.com

::

Elektrik Bugs is produced with the support Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, and perte de signal.

NAISA (New Adventures in Sound Art) is a non-profit organization that presents performances and installations spanning the entire spectrum of electroacoustic and experimental sound art. Through workshops, lectures, and demonstrations that teach a new perception of sound, New Adventures in Sound Art offers the opportunity to educate artists and audiences both locally and abroad. naisa.ca

perte de signal is a Montreal-based artist center located at the Pôle de création de diffusion De Gaspé, within the Regroupement Pied Carré, whose mandate is to foster research, creation and distribution in digital arts, as well as innovative uses of technology. perte-de-signal.org

– 30 –
Source
Camille Montuelle
communications@perte-de-signal.org

Stephanie Castonguay :: Bestioles Électriques

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.


Montréal, le 19 juin 2019 – Stephanie Castonguay est au festival Sound Travels, organisé par New Adventures In Sound à South River (ON) pour tenir Bestioles Électriques son nouvel atelier d’expérimentation sonore auprès des enfants de l’école de South River.

Stephanie Castonguay est en résidence à NAISA dans le cadre du festival d’art sonore Sound Travels. Elle y tient son nouvel atelier « Bestioles Électriques », qu’elle proposait lundi et mardi aux élèves des classes de l’école de South River Public School. Ensemble, ils réaliseront une performance sonore tirés de leurs créations ce vendredi 21 juin 2019 et les modules développés lors des ateliers seront ensuite présentés sous la forme d’une installation sonore et interactive, ouverte au public du 21 juin au 22 juillet 2019, à NAISA North Media Arts Centre.

Bestioles Électriques est le dernier atelier électronique et créatif pour enfants de Stephanie Castonguay. Il propose une expérimentation sur la façon dont la fréquence sonore voyage à travers la lumière pour être reconvertie en son par le biais d’un panneau solaire. En transformant le son de leur propre voix à l’aide d’un dispositif émetteur, les enfants seront amenés à imaginer comment les insectes communiquent entre eux.

::

Plus d’infos sur…

Vernissage / performance | vendredi 21 juin – 19h | NAISA North Media Arts Centre, 106 Ottawa Ave, South River (ON)
naisa.ca/performances/upcoming-performances
Événement Facebook

Exposition | du 21 juin au 22 juillet 2019 (ouvert de 10 à 16h tous les jours sauf mardi et mercredi) | NAISA North Media Arts Centre, 106 Ottawa Ave, South River (ON)
→ naisa.ca/installations/upcoming-installations
→ Événement Facebook

Stephanie Castonguay
→ stephaniecastonguay.com

::

Bestioles Électriques est produit grâce au support du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec, et perte de signal.

NAISA (New Adventures in Sound Art) est une organisation à but non lucratif qui présente des performances et des installations couvrant tout le spectre de l’art sonore électroacoustique et expérimental. À travers des ateliers, des conférences et des démonstrations qui enseignent une nouvelle perception du son, New Adventures in Sound Art offre la possibilité d’éduquer des artistes et des publics, à la fois localement et à l’étranger. naisa.ca

perte de signal est un centre d’artistes situé au Pôle de Gaspé à Montréal dont le mandat est de promouvoir le renforcement et le rayonnement des arts numériques et l’innovation artistique liée à la technologie. perte-de-signal.org

– 30 –
Source
Camille Montuelle
communications@perte-de-signal.org